RSS

Welcome to my blog.

01 Jun

 

Welcome, and thanks for stopping by

 
      Hello everybody, and thanks for taking a look at my new blog.

   Hope everybody bears with me, as this is my first attempt at a blog. What are my blogs going to be about? well, I am an artist, or that is what some people say I am, but I like to refer to myself as an artist learning. I am a self taught artist, who as recently as a year ago, really gotten involved into landscapes in either pastels, or pencil / charcoal. Before that, I had really concentrated on animated work, such as  Mickey Mouse, Family Guy, and the likes. In a way, I guess you could say that I was a copy cat artist. Funny enough, that Family Guy Blue Harvest (below), is what started back into drawing after over 10 years of not drawing, or doing any artwork at all.

This 18 X 24 charcoal / pencil drawing was a two month process, but after finishing it, it dawned on me that I would not be able to sell this piece after all of my hard work. That is when I decided on getting serious about art. After some nudging from my wive, and family members, I dived right into landscape work. Nights of reading, practicing, and oddly enough, youtube videos, some wierd looking landscapes, and plenty of paper, I got the courage to enter my local libraries juried art show with this piece, Mountainview.
 

   
     Though it was not good enough to win an award, it did sell. My very first art show, and my piece sold. Shocked? Yes, but at the same time, it encouraged me to continue, and work even harder. I know I have a long way to go in pastels, but I am on the edge to stick with one medium.

    Well, I’ve rambled on long enough. This blog I hope to take you along with me as I journey deeper into landscapes in pastel, and graphite / charcoal, and perhaps get better along the way.

  To see all of my work, please visit my website at hermannart.yolasite.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Welcome to my blog.

  1. quanzamme

    June 1, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    I can really relate to the “self taught” part. I also joined poster making contests (medium: pastels) way back in highschool. I practiced everyday until finally I got used to it… even loved it. And… that’s a pretty good landscape for a self taught artist like you! That’s what you call talent. 🙂

     
    • Steve

      June 2, 2011 at 2:56 am

      Thank you very much for the comment. Though most of the time I am my own worse critic.

       

Leave a Reply

 
